2 Fantasies By Leopold Weiss
2 Fantasies By Leopold Weiss

2 Fantasies By Leopold Weiss

Your Price: $6.95
Catalog: 74531
Availability: In Stock

Send to:

*We'll ask for shipping info at checkout

2 Fantasies By Leopold Weiss

Silvius Leopold Weiss (12 October 1687 – 16 October 1750) was a German composer and lutenist. Born in Grottkau near Breslau, the son of Johann Jacob Weiss, also a lutenist, he served at courts in Breslau, Rome, and Dresden, where he died. Until recently, he was thought to have been born in 1686, but recent evidence suggests that he was in fact born the following year.

Weiss was one of the most important and most prolific composers of lute music in history and one of the best-known and most technically accomplished lutenists of his day. He wrote around 600 pieces for lute, most of them grouped into 'sonatas' (not to be confused with the later classical sonata, based on sonata form) or suites, which consist mostly of baroque dance pieces. Weiss also wrote chamber pieces and concertos, but only the solo parts have survived for most of them.

Many of the sonatas and fantasies written by Weiss are suitable for transcribing to 6 string guitar. The melodic, but slow moving bass lines allow one to play these works, even though their range is often fairly large.

You Might Also Like