My Account  |  0 item(s)    View Cart
Brazilian Masterworks for Guitar - Stephen Aron

Brazilian Masterworks for Guitar - Stephen Aron

Your Price: $12.95
In Stock
  • UPC:190394754259
  • Label:Clear Note
*We'll ask for shipping info at checkout

Brazilian Masterworks for Guitar - Stephen Aron

  • To order this CD click the red ADD TO CART button above.
  • To order the Digital Download click the shopping cart icon below.

This recording features the world premiere of the complete guitar works of Brazilian composer Walter Burle Marx. A celebrated pianist and conductor, Burle Marx (1902-90), composed for chamber ensembles, symphony orchestra, choir and various solo instruments. He wrote his guitar works in the 1970’s after beginning a freindship with the renowned guitarist Andres Segovia. The pieces were never played or published, however, and appear here, in their entirety, for the first time ever. The works are both substantial and compelling, and represent an extraordinary addition to the guitar repertoire. They are highly listenable pieces, imbued with the rich colors of Brazilian harmony and rhythm, and demonstrate an authentic gift for melody. It is a thrill to be able to offer these works to the listening public.

  • Burle Marx
  • Saudade do Nosso Amigo
  • Mr. B. A. C. H. Visits Brasilia
  • Violeiros de Guaratiba
  • I. Festa (Samba)
  • II. Santa Antonio da Bica (Choro)
  • III. Conversa (Fuga)
  • IV. Flora Amazonica (Fantasia)
  • V. Folias de Guaratiba (Frevo)
  • Saga do Medievo
  • Heitor Villa-Lobos
  • Suite Populaire Bresilienne
  • Mazurka-Choro
  • Schottisch-Choro
  • Valsa-Choro 1
  • Gavota-Choro
  • Chorinho
  • Valse-Choro 2

This collection also features a recently rediscovered solo guitar work by Brazilian master, Heitor Villa-Lobos (1888-1955). The Suite Populaire Bresilienne is a five-movement collection of pieces known for their highly melodic and folkloric character. Many of the movements rely on the traditional choro rhythm known well to the composer from his formative years playing in choro bands. A hitherto lost sixth movement adds a wholly new dimension to the composition. The missing movement, entitled “Valse-Choro,” is an entirely different piece than the “Valsa-Choro” already featured in the Suite. The “new” Valse-Choro is added at the end of the Suite in the recording in order to preserve the compostition’s original published sequence. This “new” work is a beautiful and idiosyncratic piece which I am enormously pleased to be able to include in this recording.

Related Items

Recently Viewed Items