Your Price: $12.95
Catalog: 75671
Availability: In Stock

Send to:

*We'll ask for shipping info at checkout

Cantares for Soprano and Guitar

Available on Apple Music/iTunes

The richness of language–Spanish and its numerous dialects, as well as indigenous tongues–imbues Spanish and Latin American song literature with an infinite variety of melodic and rhythmic textures. This CD contains a fascinating collection of these songs.

Four Sixteenth Century Songs

  • 1. Porque es, dama,tanto quereros? Diego Pisador
  • 2. Donde son estas serranas? Enrique de Valderrabano
  • 3. Agora vienese un viento… Luis de Milán
  • 4. Se te vas a bañar, Juanica… Diego Pisador (arr. by G. Tarrago)

No se emendera jamas

  • 5. Aria (No se emenderá jamas) G. F. Handel**
  • 6. Recitativo (No se emenderá jamas) G. F. Handel**
  • 7. Aria (No se emenderá jamas) G. F. Handel**

Siete cantares

  • 8. La indita (7 cantares) Roberto Gerhard
  • 9. El toro (7 cantares) Roberto Gerhard
  • 10. La auséncia (7 cantares) Roberto Gerhard
  • 11. Un galán y su morena (7 cantares) Roberto Gerhard
  • 12. La lobada (7 cantares) Roberto Gerhard
  • 13. La muerte y la donzella (7 cantares) Roberto Gerhard
  • 14. Reinas de la baraja (7 cantares) Roberto Gerhard

Seis poemas arcaicos

  • 15. Más quiero morir… (6 poemas) Manuel M. Ponce*
  • 16. Zagaleja del Casar… (6 poemas) Manuel M. Ponce*
  • 17. De las sierras…(6 poemas) Manuel M. Ponce*
  • 18. Sol,sol,gi,gi… (6 poemas) Manuel M. Ponce*
  • 19. Desciende el valle, niña… (6 poemas) Manuel M. Ponce*
  • 20. Tres morillas… (6 poemas) Manuel M. Ponce*
  • 21. Estrellita Manuel M. Ponce*

Two Columbian Folksongs

  • 22. Mis flores negras Miguel Sandoval*
  • 23. Por b uneso de tu boca Miguel Sandoval*

Cuatro canciones aztecas

  • 24. No nantzin Salvador Moreno*
  • 25. Ihcuac tlaneci… Salvador Moreno*
  • 26. To ilhuicac tlahtzin Salvador Moreno*
  • 27. To huey tlahtzin Cuauhtémoc Salvador Moreno*

* Arranged by Gregg Nestor
** Arranged by Raymond Burley

Recorded at The Place, NYC
Recording Engineer: Evan Richey
Executive Producer: Lincoln Mayorga
Produced by Gregg Nestor and Anna Bartos
Mastering: Gavin Lurssen, The Mastering Lab
Art Direction: Suzanne Hollander
Cover Design: Sean Hickey
Cover Photo: John Purick

You Might Also Like